Talking Shop...

...whenever you're watching paint dry, waiting for a mold to set up, or listening to the hum of a machine that is doing your bidding. Here you will glean the latest information from your APMM community, learn a trick or two, or find out what our Vendors are doing. Because resourcefulness is a true model maker's trait!

 

APMM Zoom Meet-Ups

We're hosting informal and interactive Zoom Meet-Ups for our members to get together in virtual space - make sure your membership is current and active, then join us! (Members in good standing will receive an email message inviting them to the session, including Zoom meeting details and links. We'll even send you a reminder before the session starts! Some sessions are open to all.) 

 


Planned upcoming meet-ups

  • Wed. July 21 @ 4 PM EDT - Building a Better Workplace through EDI (member session)
    Equity, Diversity and Inclusion are as important to model shops as they are to any other growing business. With the spotlight on national events, the APMM is taking a serious look at what these terms mean and how we can create environments that foster and encourage diversity and inclusion.

    Please join Aaron Williams from CBT Architects (Boston, MA), Bruce Williams and Polly Sackett from Accurate Pattern (Butler, WI), and Jennifer Shorb from Monarch-3D (Spring, TX) for a panel discussion about Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. They will discuss how they have been working with their companies to create a better workplace, while sharing their personal journey and how it guides their EDI goals today. Members will receive an email invitation, but non-members/general public may request a special invitation by contacting [email protected].

  • Wed. August 4 @ 1 PM EDT - Social Media and the APMM: What's the best way to get 'social'? (member session)
    Join the APMM's Social Media Evangelist (and Technology VP) Joshua Munchow of Formation Design Group (Atlanta, GA) for an in-depth discussion of ways that the APMM can use social media (Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn) to reach more model makers and inspire a new generation of professional makers. We'll wade into deep electronic waters to figure out best practices and how to engage and encourage participation and sharing. Members will receive an email invitation, but non-members/general public may request a special invitation by contacting [email protected].
     
  • Wed. September 1 @ 1 PM EDT - Meet Our Special Guest Bruce Rosenbaum: Steampunk Sculptor and Professional Maker (open to all)
    Renowned Steam Punk artist/sculptor and Professional Maker Bruce Rosenbaum will talk with us about what inspired him to pursue this unique art and how he has used the "invention" process to conceptualize and create the Velocipede Time Machine - a daring kinetic sculpture featured at the Hagley Museum in Wilmington, DE. Bruce joined us for our Virtual Conference 2021 and we're delighted to talk with him again! Zoom link will be provided here.

  • August 2021 - Tour of a university shop... or two
  • October 2021 - Metal 3D printing accessible to all model makers, designers, and manufacturers. Hosted by MasterGraphics in Wisconsin
  • TBA - Puppeteering: Models that are meant to move
  • TBA - Printing in Metal
  • TBA - Reliable sources for Unobtanium
  • TBA - Model Makers - the Swiss Army Knife people of the zombie apocalypse


Meet-up sessions will generally take place on the 1st Wednesday of the month at 10 AM PDT/11 AM MDT/12 PM CDT/1 PM EDT/6 PM BST and the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 1 PM PDT/2 PM MDT/3 PM CDT/4 PM EDT/9 PM BST. Please watch for announcements or changes here as schedules are subject to change!

 

more model maker Meet-ups

 

We're model makers. We're your community.



Got questions? Contact [email protected]