APMM Community Forum : Ask a Pro!
Welcome Guest   
 
 Subject : Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/28/2020 03:53:03 PM 
Camryn Brashear
Posts: 3
Location
So after lots of research and experimenting, this is what I've come up with :)

The Arrange feature in Fusion worked better when all my models selected were of the same thickness (makes sense) and I had them all as components (not bodies). Figured I share this in case anyone in the future has similar problems. From here it should let me just get out some Gcode from the manufacture tab.
 Subject : Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/23/2020 01:05:43 PM 
Camryn Brashear
Posts: 3
Location
Thank you all for the quick and helpful feedback! I'm looking into MapBoards today and otherwise I'll probably manually separate the models to prep for the tool paths.
 Subject : Re:Re:Re:Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/22/2020 10:23:07 PM 
CHRIS STANLEY
Posts: 2
Location
It looks to me that your question is not how to have this made but how to develop a cut pattern in Fusion360m after you have designed your cabinet. I to use Fusion 360 but have not attempted that task. It looks like MapBoards may be the add-on feature you can use to do this.
 Subject : Re:Re:Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/22/2020 09:22:37 PM 
David
Posts: 1
Location
Shh here's a secret - I am a one-off custom furnituremaker - not model maker...So I can tell you to check out 100kGarages.com. This is where cnc owners pickup odd jobs. They will probably be able to work with your dxf files. Your real challenge is designing the cabinets to match the materials and fastening system you choose. The cnc guy/gal probably will do the nesting for you.

Dusty
 Subject : Re:Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/22/2020 07:07:44 PM 
Simon James
Posts: 1
Location
Hey Camryn
if you are just looking to have the cabinets made, a local wood shop with a CNC router would be able to do that. You could give them STEP files most likely and they could work out the pieces with their software. They could even have the material there possibly or could have it delivered in.
Is that what you wanted to do? Unless you have a machine to do this, there is not really any point of you generating any NC code to do it.
 Subject : Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/22/2020 05:02:26 PM 
BRUCE WILLEY
Posts: 4
Location
Hi Canryn,

I hope somebody who knows more about Fusion 360 chimes in here, but I'll tell you what I can. If you have built those cabinets in 3D and want to CNC machine the panels, you need to export a ".nc" file from your software. That creates G-Code for the CNC. Autodesk will do that but you have to do some steps in between. I found this site:

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/fusion-360/learn-explore/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Does-Fusion-360-Write-G-code.html

Autodesk might have a feature that will recognize each individual panel in your assembly and be able to lay them all out for machining (all on the same plane, arranged by material type and thickness) or you will have to do that.

Then you would be able to program toolpaths in Autodesk for whatever CNC equipment you have with the appropriate cutters to machine all the pieces.

You have to know a lot about the CNC machine like types of cutters and size of the bed and where its origin point is and things like that. I suppose you're using a machine that others use, and they would have to guide you if you've never programmed parts for it before. They will also know about the file translations, etc. Good luck!
 Subject : Re:New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/22/2020 04:08:12 PM 
JILL KENIK
Posts: 2
Location
APMM welcomed Camryn very recently as our newest student model maker. She is working at the same time as finishing out her course of study. Any help we can provide is helping the future of model making! Please pitch in if you can.
 Subject : New to CAM in Fusion 360 Workflow -- Need help.. 09/22/2020 03:30:03 PM 
Camryn Brashear
Posts: 3
Location
Hello! As stated in the subject title, I'm new to CAM in general and am using Fusion 360 to learn it. My company asked me to model some ambulance cabinets to be cut out with a CNC machine. I've modeled the elements, but am unsure what to do next. I've looked up some nesting programs such as Deepnest but get errors saying it can't convert the .dfx to an .svg. I tried using the new Arrange feature in Fusion's manufacturing section, but I get an error about parenting that I don't understand. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Camryn

Attachments
 Ambulance Cabinets CAD.PNG [381 KB] : The Design
 
# of Topics per Page